Sun Worshipper

Sun Worshipper

When my very dear friend, Eileen, passed away in February, her daughter included “sun worshipper” in her obituary. And sun worshipper she was, so I suppose that’s where love of sunning began for me. It’s not even about the accompanying tan. I just believe I am solar-powered.

Here are some random, funny memories involved in the pursuit of the sun. I say pursuit because though I love the beach and that is always first choice, one must be inventive.

Eileen’s kitchen had sliding glass doors so even in winter you could grab some rays Now I turn the chair in my living room to take advantage of the winter sun pouring in the windows, and pretend I’m on a tropical island. A dab of coconut oil on the arm helps.

One February vacation, lying out in the yard by my pool in West Orange, I found a small space that didn’t have ice. I set up my lounge chair and had a sleeping bag which I would wrap around me when the clouds covered the sun. My husky shepherd was in heaven, lying on the ice near me. Back at school, I had a tan while those who had been in rainy Florida did not.

In my yard in West Orange, I would often lie on a lounge chair, an electric fan plugged in and directed on me. Better yet, I used a specially rigged hose that fastened around the frame of the lounge and provided a gentle, cooling spray through tiny holes. (Thanks Pi)

On a day early in May, some years ago, my daughter and I played hooky from school so we could hit the beach for the first time that season. The next day at school I was left to explain why/how I had a sunburn on my eyelids.

By a cruel twist of fate, I am now on a medication that makes me sun-sensitive. Before going out in the sun, I have to use a variety of products, including flesh-colored zinc for my nose and sunscreens with ridiculously high SPF’s I have invested in cover-up clothes to put on after my 20 minutes of sun and have even found a high-necked swimsuit, but I won’t give up the sun.

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, June 10th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sun Worshipper

  1. Ann says:

    I know! I know! After an entire lifetime at the shore, Mantaloking, NJ, and at camp, Lake Sebago, ME, I moved right after Tufts to Boca Raton, FL where I hung around on the beach and in the water for almost 40 years. I’ve had hundreds of skin cancer surgeries, and two Mohs surgeries. I( get burned, and new squamous cell cancers just going from a building to the car, etc.) But wasn’t it fun baking in the sun, Dorothy?
    When my buddies and I were young, we’d buy a big bottle of baby oil, pour out some, and add a tiny bottle’s worth of iodine. Shake vigorously, apply everywhere, and lie in the sun like hot dogs or barbecue. You could almost hear the sizzle.
    I guess our “day in the sun” is over!

Leave a Reply

