Sikhs in the City

Sikhs in the City

I’m not sure what captured my attention first: seeing this headline in Sunday’s Boston Globe : “Distance runner hangs it up at 101” or reading the words “Sikhs in the City” emblazoned on the T-shirt worn by the elderly man in the picture below it.

Just as I was completing the final edit on my Phys Ed piece for Monday, I came across this article about Fauja Singh, a native of India,  pictured in a  T-shirt proclaiming “Sikhs in the City” and sporting a gold-colored turban which led to the nickname “Turbaned Tornado.” Deeply saddened by the death of his wife and his son in less than two years, he didn’t feel his life was worth living. He moved to London to be near his other son and decided to take up running  when he was near 90. His running club, “Sikhs in the City”  was formed by Sikhs in their 70’s and 80’s.

Singh, who completed his first marathon at 89.  refused to believe that he was too old to start running. Or as the Globe writer, Kevin Paul Dupont, conjectures, “Perhaps he was just too old to explore the thought or too wise.”

So before anyone assails me about concluding I must wait for another life to run a marathon, or to start running, let’s just say I’m too wise to even contemplate it in this one!

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, March 11th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sikhs in the City

  1. Brenda says:

    Love it!

  2. Carol D'Agostino says:

    Maybe not running the marathon, but how about walking? My mother is 98 and can’t walk now, But she did the Walk for Hunger (20 miles) in her 70’s and into her 80’s.

    • twofelines says:

      I’ve always been impressed by your mother’s doing that. I walk every day (inside in winter) but 2 to 3.4 miles most of the time. I might walk 5 miles but that would be a stretch. Maybe as soon as the weather is nice I should try going farther bit by bit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

