Rabbit

Rabbit

Ready for some good luck?

On the first of the month, (For example tomorrow, which is the first of March),  in the morning, as soon as you wake up, before you say any other word out loud, say, “Rabbit”,   and you’ll have good luck all month.

Now this is not nearly as easy as it seems. Of course, one first has to remember that it IS the first of the month.   It took me months before I was able to remember to say “Rabbit” aloud before speaking to any of my kids or, once, even to the cat. And in case you’re thinking of writing it on the ceiling or attaching a Post-It note to the bathroom light, forget about it. That’s cheating.

There are variations of this custom. Some maintain you must say, “Rabbit, rabbit, white rabbit.” Others insist you must say, “Rabbits” or “Rabbits, Rabbits, Rabbits.”But I’ve stuck with just “Rabbit” since I picked up this little habit , perhaps 35 or more years ago.  I have no idea where I first heard of it, but I guess I am a bit superstitious so decided it was worth a try. I know that over the years I’ve run into others with this superstition, found it incorporated in a novel, and saw a posting about it in the classified ads.

When I decided to see what Wikipedia had to say about this practice, I discovered that mention was made of this custom in England in 1420, (Checked twice on that date) and from there it spread to most English-speaking countries in the world. Supposedly someone as famous as FDR made mention of it in 1935.  In the mid-90’s Nickelodeon really popularized it by giving reminders on the last day of the month, if the first of the month was on a weekday. It is not clear why the word has to be rabbit although rabbits are often considered lucky, except for the one with a foot on a key chain!

I can’t say I’ve ever noticed particularly good luck in the months I’ve remembered to say it, but who knows what bad luck it might have fended off?  At this point, actually remembering to say “rabbit” before I speak any other word is really more of a mental discipline.

Just try it. It’s not that easy!

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, March 4th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rabbit

  1. efmcmahon says:

    Thanks for the tip! I’m totally up for a month of good luck and
    will try to follow the no reminder rule. Rabbit!

  2. Carol D'Agostino says:

    Rabbit tomorrow !

Leave a Reply

