Information, please

Information, please

Back in the day – and I mean way back, when phones didn’t even have a dial, and you just picked up the phone and got an operator…  I was , I think, in fourth grade when part of the homework assignment was to find out what rivers converged in Pittsburg  to form the Ohio River. I picked up the phone and said, “Information, please.”  When I was connected with the information operator I asked my question. She laughed and told me she didn’t give that kind of information. Surprised and disappointed, I think I called my Uncle Sam to get the answer and have never forgotten the Allegheny and the Monongahela .

That’s probably why they changed the name to ” Directory Assistance.” But I co-opted that for personal reasons as well. When I was living in Waukesha, Wisconsin in the mid-60’s, long distance calling was very expensive, so although I was terribly homesick for Medford and Boston, I didn’t call friends. However there was no charge for Directory  Assistance, and the operator would give street address as well as town, and, if you were lucky might even chat a bit. So I would dial 411,  be asked, “What city, please”  get the Boston operator and ask for things where I knew she would have to say words like ” Park Street,” and “Jordan Marsh” just so I could hear the accent.

Nowadays I rely on Google and white pages.com, but I think the old ways were more fun.

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Thursday, February 28th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Information, please

  1. Carol D'Agostino says:

    Information gathering has come a long way! That is, if we can keep up with the technology. We just were forced to buy a new computer with Windows 8. It is challenging !

Leave a Reply

