Playing Church

Playing Church

Not only did I spend my elementary school years playing school,  I also played church, but only on a  Sunday afternoon. For this simulation, I would rope in all four adults: my mother, my  father, Aunt Dot and Uncle Sam. And, of course, I was the minister.

I would pick 2 or 3 hymns for us all to sing, often accompanying  on the piano.

Sometimes  I would ask my father to “offer the prayer, “ but as likely as not, I would do it myself.

I would carefully select scripture, usually from the New Testament, and that I would read myself. I also gave the sermon – a short one.

One Sunday I even decided I would serve communion, but my mother drew the line at that!

One of the benefits of playing church was that when I had my Uncle Sam take up the offering, sometimes I got actual money. Once it was a fifty cent piece, and I was overjoyed.

The most incongruous thing is that after I gave the benediction, we would set up  Monopoly, and my father, Uncle Sam, – sometimes my Aunt Dot, but never my mother-and I would finish Sunday afternoon with that game.

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

 

Next Post: Monday, February 11th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing Church

  1. Carol D'Agostino says:

    I never thought about playing Church! So you were a teacher, but did you ever consider working for the Church? Just realized I was a teacher and later worked for our Church in religious education.

Leave a Reply

