Hazel-isms

Hazel-isms

A very important person was born on this day, January 17th.  I know; you think I’m referring to Benjamin Franklin.  Au contraire.  I mean my mother, Hazel Saunders Corson, born on this date in 1890. Today I want to share with you some of her catchphrases, or what I have come to cherish as Hazel-isms.  I have made an attempt to categorize them for ease in reading, but some defy being put into a category.

On death and dying

If you were born to be shot, you won’t die hanging.

The old must [die] and the young may.

No one gets out of this world alive.

They’re not dead yet. [In response to questions of the evil prospering]

 

If I was complaining about food or acted like I expected her to wait on me

Who was your servant last year?

Oh, the star boarder doesn’t like it?

If you don’t like it, change your boarding house.

 

Advice on life

Everything  will be all right.

Don’t skate out on thin ice and then ask God to save you.

You can’t get blood out of a turnip.

I hope your face doesn’t freeze that way!

You can’t put an old head on young shoulders.

Time will tell.

******Don’t burn your bridges.****

 

As I was leaving the house

Here’s your hat, what’s the hurry.

Goodbye while you’re handy.

Write if you get work.

General

You should have your head examined!

If someone should drive up in a hack and ask you…

Go peddle your papers.

Go bag your head.

Take off your coat and stay awhile.

If it was a bear it would bite you.

Will wonders never cease?

So that’s the story!

Another country heard from.

First one to sleep, holler.

Talking about me

She was vaccinated with a phonograph needle.

She can hear the grass grow.

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

 

Next Post: Monday, Jan. 28th  Yup, I’m heading to the Islands for some sun!!

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hazel-isms

  1. Stephen Judd says:

    Is she also the source of “If ifs and ands were pots and pans…” ?

  2. Ann says:

    Amazing how many of those phrases my parents used, even though my mom was born in 1911, and my dad in 1912. Loved them all, Dorothy! Thanks for having such a good memory. Ann

Leave a Reply

