JOY

JOY: that’s it. I’ve decided. The word I will choose to concentrate on for 2013 is JOY.I’m going with the simplest definition of joy: delight. (Merriam-Webster)

Many years ago I had a poster that said, “Joy is an inside job.”

I’m going to remember that.

As I’ve thought about it, feeling joy is mainly a matter of paying attention.

I know I love those little Clementines called Cuties. If I take the time to SAVOR at least that first bite, I feel joy. What if I take the time to savor the whole fruit?

There’s the old advice: Stop and smell the roses. You’d think that being retired I’d be doing a lot of stopping instead of a lot of rushing, but it’s not true. So this year I’ll make a conscious effort to stop: to watch that cute little squirrel run up the tree, to study that first crocus that dares to pop its head up in NH when it’s still winter, to marvel at the clouds, even if I have to stop my car! (Safely of course.)

There’s the Zen proverb: “When walking, walk; when eating , eat.” It’s about mindfulness and paying attention.  Makes sense. Sounds easy but isn’t.

Sometimes it will be a small joy, as taking  that first sip of morning coffee. Sometimes, thank you, Lord, it will be a joy that lasts for hours as when I recently spent time with all six of my grandchildren.

JOY: it’s all there for me, and all that is required is my attention.

Choosing one word for the year is based on the book “One Perfect Word” by popular author Debbie Macomber.  In the past weeks I’ve cycled through many possibilities of a word for the year: Balance (both physical and time-wise), Believe, Boundaries, Acceptance. I thought of, but quickly rejected Adventure when I realized that at this point in my life adventure is crossing the icy parking lot to my car! In retrospect, I think that Joy might be the easiest choice, but I’m going with it.

I referred to this practice of a word for the year in my blog post of September 24th when I mentioned that my word for 2012 was PATIENCE. I have been very aware of attempting to be more patient and perhaps I’ve made some progress, but I still have a long way to go. So, I’m going to keep that word in mind as I set off on the new year and the practice of JOY.

(c) Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Thursday, January 3, 2013    Happy New Year, Everyone

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to JOY

  1. Awesome! Sounds like a wonderful plan!

  2. Lisa Gross says:

    Hi Dee, You are such a great writer. I wish the whole world could read your thoughts. Happy New Year my friend. I wish you lots of Joy! Love, Lisa

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

