The Birds’ Christmas Carol

“The Birds’ Christmas Carol”

If you are at all sentimental and believe, as I do, that no holiday season is complete with-out at least one good cry (even if it’s over a Hallmark commercial), then I highly recommend that you read “The Birds’ Christmas Carol” by Kate Douglas Wiggin, written in 1886.

This book, which my mother and Aunt Dot had read as children, was given to me for Christmas when I was about 10, and read to me by my Uncle Sam.

Wiggin wrote so descriptively, even to accents, that between her language, the colored pictures in the original edition, and my own visualization abilities, I did not just hear the story, I experienced it.

The Carol of the title is a beautiful child, born on Christmas day into a loving family who previously had only sons. Of course, as so often happened in Victorian stories, Carol develops some unnamed illness and  grows weaker and weaker until she is permanently confined to her bed. Everyone in the family dotes on her , and she, in turn, brings strength into each of their lives with her sweet disposition.

For the Christmas described in this book, on which Carol would turn twelve, she decides that all she wants is to provide a marvelous holiday for the Ruggles family, a boisterous gang of poor children whom she delights in watching out her bedroom window. The description of each child, the outfits the mother creates for each of them, the manners she tries to drill into them in preparation for the great day will make you laugh right out loud. You attend the celebration rather than observing it.

Ah, and then I’m sure you can predict what happens as evening turns to Christmas morning, the choir of the local church, heard through the bedroom window singing, “Carol, Brothers, Carol. Carol Joyfully.” Of course they had been singing this same song the morning Carol was born, and thus her name.

One year I was reading this book chapter by chapter to my own children and some kids in the neighborhood. Though I had heard and read the story many times over, when I reached a certain point, I just started sobbing. One neighbor child said, “Darn, now I’ll never know how the story ends.”

But I did read the rest of the story, and I have to believe that it still has a place in the heart of all who have heard or read it.

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

 

Next Post: Monday, December 17

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Birds’ Christmas Carol

  1. efmcmahon says:

    beautiful, I have images of Beth in Little Women….hope it’s still in print,
    I may just buy it for Kate. Thanks Dorothy!

  2. It’s available at Amazon. I checked. The newer versions don’t have illustrations, but the words create such strong images!

Leave a Reply

