Reasons I Love Subbing

Reasons I love subbing in the  high school.

People look at me askance when I say I love subbing – especially because it is subbing in the high school.  I finally put together a list of reasons, in no particular order, except for #’s 1 and 10.

 

  1. The students – Finding out what they are learning

Reading their papers

Eavesdropping on conversations and sometimes  being included in them

Seeing what they wear

Watching their talent shows, Quidditch match, PowerPoint presentations

Keeping current – how else would I know about Gangnam Style?

Being tutored by them on newest  electronic equipment

Reading books they’re assigned

  1. Passing in the halls – love crowds, a leftover from Boston days

Frequently greeted and often called by name-  See post of Nov. 8

  1. Sometimes actually teaching and thus the need to get up to speed, quickly,  on a Shakespearean play, requirements for American citizenship, Absolutism in Europe,

grammar and punctuation rules

4.Energy felt in the building the day before a vacation – walls vibrate

5. It feels like I still get vacations and snow days.

6. Faculty and Staff-  adult conversations about curriculum, current events and, yes, gossip

7. Lunch – the café has great food and I get to eat with adults- see above

8. Incidentals – reading the Boston Globe in print , having to walk halls and stairs, perfect

excuse for not doing housework.

9. If I don’t have a class first period, I go in late. If I don’t have a class last period, I leave  early.

10. Pay: this is actually the least of the reasons as it is embarrassingly little. However it goes  directly  into my travel account and thus eventually provides great pleasure.

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

 

Next Post: Monday, Dec. 10th

 

 

 

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reasons I Love Subbing

  1. Pi Cheney says:

    Makes me want to teach highschool! Pi

    • twofelines says:

      Teaching would be totally different . Reading, evaluating and responding to all the essays would be overwhelming. Don’t know how the teachers do it!

      Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

