When I Grow Up

When I grow up..

For years, teaching  in the elementary classroom, I would say, “When I grow up…”  No kid ever batted an eye when I went on with whatever completed that thought.   Until…one day,  ten years ago,  when subbing in a K-1 class, after reading a book about a woman and her cats to the kids, I said, “When I grow up, I’d like to be a little old lady who lives in a cabin in the woods with lots and lots of cats.”

One little girl raised her hand. “Yes,” I said.

“But, Mrs. Judd,  you already are a little old lady,” said Hannah.

ROTFL

© Dorothy C. Judd

 

Next Post: Thursday, Dec. 6

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When I Grow Up

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    Never!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Ah, yes! Only from the mouths of babes!

Leave a Reply

