Twinkies

Twinkies

First it was Campbell’s tomato soup. Now it’s Twinkies and Wonder Bread!  What is happening to the staples of my childhood?

Actually I preferred Devil Dogs, but I ate a number of  Twinkies as well since  both were available at the little neighborhood store  which we kids could patronize on our own, even at  age 6!

I had managed to avoid Twinkies for a number of years, but last summer, spending time with my New Boston grandchildren, I got sucked back into Twinkies. It isn’t that they were eating them, but whenever they saw a yellow vehicle, they would shout, Twinkie, and of course the first person to shout it, won.  I kept this up after I came home, calling out “Twinkie,” even when I was all by myself. It’s amazing how many yellow vehicles there are nowadays!

Now you would have to know that I am very impressionable. When I was in sixth grade, I was seated near a girl named Barbara who blinked constantly. Soon I was blinking too. My mother wrote a note to the teacher asking that I have my seat changed.

Well, after hearing and saying Twinkie one whole summer, I began craving one. I checked around locally, and there was no place where you could buy just one. Finally, at a supermarket, I found a box of ten, which, of course, I had to buy. I ate only one because I found it way too sweet, but the interesting thing was that my cat, Bonnie, jumped up on the arm of my chair,  tore off a corner of the Twinkie and ran away  to eat it. Makes you wonder what was really in it!

And then there’s Wonder Bread.  For years I’ve dutifully eaten whole wheat, whole grain bread, even though Wonder Bread was reputed to “build strong bodies 8 ways.” But I don’t think anything was ever better than bologna with yellow mustard on Wonder Bread. And then there was my favorite sandwich which made most people cringe: cold baked beans with ketchup on Wonder Bread.

What’s next to be discontinued?  I’m not sure I want to know. But if you ever hear that it’s Cheez-Its, you’ll know I am in big trouble!

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, November 26th

(No post Thursday as it is Thanksgiving. Have a wonderful one!)

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Twinkies

  1. Not sure what will be discontinued next, but I think the bean sandwich should be! Yucky!! 🙂

  2. Liz McMahon says:

    Ring Dings and Funny Bones were my favorites. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving Dorothy!

  3. Pam Cheney says:

    Thank you Aunt Dot for the validation–baked bean sandwiches are the best. The beans must be ccoked down so it is almost a paste, then let them come back up to room temperature from the fridge before going on the sandwich. I like to toast the bread first. Haven’t had this in years but it is wonderful!!
    As for Hostess, I will really only miss the Suzy-Qs and chocolate cupcakes. I ate more Ding Dongs and Ho Ho’s growing up than anyone should be able to survive, but they weren’t really that great. And I will never understand how anyone could have eaten the yellow cupcakes or the pink Sno-Balls–yuk.

Leave a Reply

