What’s in a Name?

What’s in a name?

In my life I have had – and continue to have – many names: Dorothy, D.F., Dotty, Dot, Dot-Dot, Dee, DJ, and Diesel, to mention a few.  Of course I have loved being called Mom and Gramma.

But the name I have heard myself called the most in my life would be Mrs. or Ms Judd. This will not require an explanation if you have ever worked in a classroom.  Over and over and over in my career of 27 years in elementary school, kids would say my name, sometimes seeming to preface every sentence with it.

When I took early retirement and relocated to Hanover to be a granny-nanny, I hardly ever heard myself called that. After four years, I began subbing, and there it was again. Mrs. Judd, Mrs. Judd, Mrs. Judd: in the classroom, in the halls, and even shouted across the street in town.

When I told my daughter-in-law, Brooke, how much I enjoyed hearing that again, she said, “If I had known that, I would have had the kids call you Mrs. Judd instead of Gramma!”

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next Post: Monday, Nov. 12th

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s in a Name?

  1. efmcmahon says:

    haha, I do always think of you as Ms. Judd from Kate’s days! Love reading your blog, brings a smile, or sometimes a tear! xo

Leave a Reply

