Top Drawer

I yanked open the bureau drawer, and the front came right off in my hand, spilling half the contents onto the floor.   Knowing I’d only have to empty it anyway to take it to be repaired, I dumped the rest of the stuff onto the pile. Within moments my cat, Bonnie, came to inspect this unexpected treasure trove,   so I just tossed a sheet over the whole mess.

I should explain two things. 1.) The bureau is, if not an antique, very old, the joints drying. The drawer in question is one of two at the top of the waist-high bureau. 2.) The contents are assorted (varied) and not easy to organize like a drawer of clothes which can be folded neatly.

The top layer was under control:  a plastic jewelry case of costume earrings and a zippered bag of manicure items, along with a careful nest of infrequently used credit cards.  Underneath that layer, though was an archaeological dig.

Luckily I knew right where to take the drawer for repair, and when I explained the mess on the floor, the old man had the drawer ready in three days. Returning the items to the drawer was a chance to sort and toss or keep but also an occasion to make discoveries. Among other things, here were my findings:

…a beautiful blue pendant that I swear I never saw before

… a package of earring clutches which would have saved a trip to the jewelers

…adoption papers for my Cabbage Patch Kid

…those extra buttons that come with items of clothing, at least carefully marked so I knew which ones were outdated

…several small vials of sample perfume, each attached to a card

…a stray Tylenol or two along with a lone bobby pin

…a small change purse I bought in Turkey ( I wondered what happened to that)

…the long-forgotten castors from the bureau; why do I still have them and why in that drawer?

…10 years of completed date books; I thought I had 6, so perhaps it’s four years since I emptied out that drawer?

Maybe it’s time to dump out the companion drawer and see what treasures I find!

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

 

Next Post: Thursday, Nov. 8th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top Drawer

  1. Pam Cheney says:

    How fun, Aunt Dot! I just started using the makeup bag I bought in Turkey recently–every time I put on makeup it makes me feel good.

Leave a Reply

