Names

Names are a sign of the times.

In 1980, teaching a second grade class,  I had three Jennifers, two Jessicas,  and two Michaels.

Last year in one period at the high school, there were three Hannahs, and last week I had three Sofias in one period!

As for boys at the high school, I’ve had two Christophers  or two Benjamins, or two Alexanders in one period, and there are surprising number of Henrys throughout the school.

Now, though,  it seems the trend is to see how unique the name can be.

Here is a list from a recent Sunday paper which publishes names of babies born in a local hospital:

Elsie Irene

Ayla Jaclyn

Fisher Skye

Lexi Jo-Ann

Anya Abigail

Jacey May

Orion Heron

Breeana Louise

Austin Barry

Brandi Rose

Lincoln Arthur

Chase William

 

Having said all that, at Hanover High we have an Orrin, an Oren, and an Orin. They may be spelled differently, but they all sound the same!

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

 

Next Post: Thursday, October 25th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Names

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    How come there isn’t any Dorothy’s or Lisa?

    Sent from my iPhone

    • twofelines says:

      In my twelve years at the High School, I have not come across one student named Lisa. Unfortunate as I love the name! I have only come across one “Dorothy”, and she went by Thea.

Leave a Reply

