Magic Words

 

“What’s the magic word?”  we ask children. And they say “please” or “thank you”  because we’ve trained them well. As the years pass, we add other words of common courtesy: you’re welcome; excuse me; sorry.  These words become automatic but hopefully sincere.

Then as adults we face  difficult situations and sometimes stutter and stammer over what to say.

Unlikely as it may seem, it was from watching NYPD Blue that  I learned that when someone has suffered the death of a friend or relative, it isn’t necessary to be profound or brilliant. “I’m sorry for your loss,” about says it all.

Likewise when someone is ill, even seriously ill, or dealing with a difficult situation,  instead of waiting to come up with what I call a “grand gesture,” there is comfort in saying, “I’m thinking of you.”

I’ll leave the most magical words of all –love and love you— for a future post.  🙂

 

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Thursday, October 18th

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Magic Words

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    Love you!!

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Liz McMahon says:

    thanks Dorothy, so true…..

  3. Ann says:

    Just sitting and holding a hand is good. When the husband of one of my best friends was dying and was at home under Hospice care, I tried to visit once a week after work. One day, I sat next to him, took his hand, and said, “This is a helluva mess, isn’t it, Phil?” That opened so many thoughts and heartfelt memories from him. I had thought he didn’t like his wife’s friends, and I told him, “Gee, Phil, you are such a loving man now.” It was a special afternoon. He died a few weeks later, in his mid-40s.

Leave a Reply

