MIA

MIA

Not to make light of the term MIA, but the post I prepared for today is MIA somewhere in my computer.

As usual, first thing this morning, I looked over what I had written and edited, highlighted it, selected copy, and all of a sudden there was a blank page. Can’t find it anywhere no matter what I’ve tried. The title keeps coming up but says there are no words.

I’m reminded of when I first started using a computer more than twenty years ago and was terrified that if I pressed the wrong key every word ever written in the English language would disappear.   When I took my second-graders to the computer lab, I watched as they fearlessly pressed keys and used tools I didn’t even know existed. It was the fearlessly part that impressed me.  Meanwhile,  it is only recently that I abandoned pencil and paper altogether and used the computer for composing and editing. Previously, I liked to see what I had crossed out, what I had added, all that good stuff in drafts.

Result: I have no hard copy of today’s intended post, barely a note or two. Maybe someday I’ll find it!

© Dorothy C. Judd

Next post: Mon, October 1st

 

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MIA

  1. Diane says:

    I remember when we had our first computer workshop at S.M., I was terrified too, and had a really hard time getting the feel of the cursor…I comented that I knew why it was called a “curser.” Hope you find your MIA soon. Enjoying your blog!

  2. Ann says:

    I bet it’s in there somewhere, but you’d need a tech guru to find it. When I got my new computer 14 mos. ago, I desperately needed all my files, emails, and mountains of “My Pictures” folders on my old computer. But the hard drive had melted, and I didn’t have everything on backup. I hired someone, and even he couldn’t get the hard drive to open. It turns out that it is the size of a small but thick paperback book. I still have it as historical display. Anyway, he said he had one trick he could try. He asked for a zip-lock freezer bag, and put the hard drive in it. He put it in my freezer and said, “Now we wait for half an hour”. We did, the hard drive opened up, yielding many years of work and memories into my new computer (hard drive built into the thin monitor,) and all was well. No one believed the freezer trick – but I was there!

Leave a Reply

