Lists

Lists

At the end of second grade, my grand-daughter made a list of skills she planned to master over the summer.

Here’s her list:

1.  Crack gum

2,   Snap fingers

3.  Whistle

4.  Shuffle cards

5. Tie shoes

By mid-August, she had proudly checked off every item.

In June of 2011  I  made a list of things I wanted to do over the summer.

Here’s my list:

  1. Kayak
  2. Learn how to apply eye makeup
  3. Go to new wing of Boston Museum of Fine Arts
  4. Visit Boston Islands
  5. Go to Carson Beach

By the end of August, I could not check off even one item, nor did I fare any better this summer.

Maybe next year?

(c) Dorothy C. Judd

BTW: Next posting will be Monday, September 10th.

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lists

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    You are so funny and a terrific writer. Roy and I enjoy your posts.

    Sent from my iPad

  2. barbj2175@comcast.net says:

    Come here to canoe and pretend it’s kayaking, forget the eye makeup thing, yes to 3 & 4 and why w ould you want to go to Carson Beach

    • twofelines says:

      I put Carson Beach on the list because I kept reading about it in the Globe and figured I could incorporate it with a Boston trip. Supposedly it’s been cleaned up and “improved.” Well, so has Revere but might be harder to get there! 🙂

  3. Carol D'Agostino says:

    I have a membership to MFA and would very much like to help you with 3 and 4!

  4. Ann says:

    You two go to the MFA, and let me know all about it! We have a huge exhibit coming in October of Dale Chihuly glass works. Will be big crowds, but hopefully I can get tickets while my sister and brother in law are here. As for lists – I admire your granddaughter. The young get great satisfaction out of to-do lists. Now that I’m retired, I try to intersperse ‘must do’ stuff with ‘do nothing blocks of time. Frustrating to narrow activities down, but I do all I can. Whenever I want to ‘beat myself up’ for not doing something, I say, “Well, Ann, you’re almost 74 and have some disabilities, so what the hell. ” Never mind MOST things. I love being able to think deeply about the topics you bring up, Dorothy. Thank you!

  5. Diane says:

    Love both lists, I still can’t do eye make up, probably because I can’t see to put it on without my glasses! I would never have the guts to kayak, more power to you. Enjoying your blog!

Leave a Reply

