I Get Born

I Get Born

I was born on September 4th, and that year it was the day before Labor Day. This fact was always told as if it were funny, but actually it was all part of the birthing story. The doctor did not want my mother to have even one contraction as she was an elderly first-time mother who had a heart weakened by rheumatic fever in childhood. When she went for an appointment on Friday, the 2nd, he told her he wanted her in the hospital  right away to await any signs of impending birth there. My mother told him she couldn’t go to the hospital that night, and when asked why, she said, “We’re having steak and lemon meringue pie for supper.”

My mother didn’t go to the doctor until she was almost five months pregnant. At 48, she thought she was “going through the changes,” but my father thought she was pregnant and urged her to go to the doctor. She went from the appointment to a church banquet where my father and aunt and uncle were already seated. She wrote on a piece of paper, “I am having a baby.”, and passed the note around. Legend has it that the three of them  could  not eat, but my mother ate her meal and some of theirs.

At the time, this pregnancy was a medical miracle. Today my mother would hardly merit a line in the journal, crowded out by many in Hollywood.

More than once my mother told me how sad it made her that everyone thought that she and/or the baby would die so no one bought her a stick of baby clothing or furniture. She said, “They could have bought it and returned it.”

But despite all the misgivings, on a Sunday night at 8:40 P.M., I was delivered by Caesarean section at Baker Memorial Hospital in Boston, Ma. It was three months before my mother’s 49th birthday.

My father described me as very active from birth and said that when I tried to squirm out of my undershirt, my mother called for the nurse to take me back to the nursery.

They named me Dorothy after my mother’s favorite sister, but it was significant that the name meant, “gift of God,” for my parents felt that I truly was that.

(c) Dorothy C. Judd

About twofelines

What to say? I love my family and friends. I also love kids, cats, and books. Oh, and potato chips and Cheez-its. I am a retired teacher who still loves to be in the classroom, so now I am a substitute teacher.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Get Born

  1. Lisa Gross says:

    Wow this is beautiful !

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Brenda says:

    What a great story! So glad you were born 🙂 Happy Birthday Auntie. xo

  3. Ann says:

    I really enjoyed reading this, Dorothy. What an amazing miracle! Sometimes older mothers have very bright babies, and that was certainly the case with you. Glad to be on your blog, kiddo. Don’t ask why I am up and on the computer at 2:30 a.m. !!

  4. Liz McMahon says:

    A beautiful story of gratitude, love and hope! And no less on Labor Day. A true gift, congratulations and have a wonderful day Dorothy! Your mom and dad sound like gems.

Leave a Reply

